h1

Tokaido Pictures – Page One

July 22, 2009

(Originally Published 02/02/2008)

Out of around five hundred pictures I have carefully selected the ones I think best represent the journey and this is what I have come up with.  Enjoy! 🙂

More...

Sanjo Ohashi Bridge in Kyoto – This was where it all began.

Sanjo Ohashi

Along the Kamogawa River there were these benches/art pieces that looked a lot like giant Tetris pieces.

Is it Tetris?

The road out of Kyoto – so far so good, just about what I was expecting.

Route One - Kyoto

My first tunnel, thankfully separate from the highway.

Pedestrian Tunnel - Route One, Kyoto

A fresh produce vending machine.  Eggs, rice, carrots, onions, even what I believe could have been fresh chicken breast.

Yasai Jidou Hanbaiki

Awesome ventilation tubes for a yakiniku restaurant.  I think this may have been outside of Manbow, a pachinko parlor in Yamashina.

Snake Tubes

The Mystery Vending Machine – Regrettably, I never tested it to see what was inside.  The first two rows are hot drinks and the bottom row is cold drinks.  I think I’m happier not knowing what was inside.  Whatever it is, it’s really cheap.

Polyjuice Potion, Perhaps?

The Eastern Seaboard Nature Trail Hiking Path – This is where I became incredibly lost while climbing up and down mountains all afternoon.

Toukai Shizen Houdou

Thousands and thousands of stairs…

Going up?

There were incredible views where I was supposed to be from the viewpoint atop one mountain.  Here you can see Otsu and Lake Biwa.

Otsu and Biwako

Looking back at Yamashina.

Yamashina

Parts of the trail were really quite nice.  However, most of the trail was incredibly steep and slippery.

Section of the trail

Welcome to Blatz, my very first net cafe.  Here is an overview of the booths.

Blatz, Kusatsu

My booth:

Cozy and warm, all the amenities of home

One shelf of dozens – More manga than you can shake a stick at.

Manga, Manga!

Trucks lined up at the Kangaroo Trucking warehouse in Ishibe, Shiga prefecture.

Ruganka!

I was most definitely not expecting to see a cactus growing alongside Route One!

Saboten!

Woah, is this really Japan?  It looks so much like home.

Open Spaces in Japan

A winding road in Minakuchi, Shiga prefecture.

Twisted Paths

A building covered with vines that is actually underneath a larger, newer building.

Sleeping Beauty Heights

That’s it for page one.  There’s more!  Oh, so much more…

Leave a Reply

