h1

Tokaido Pictures – Page Three

July 22, 2009

(Originally Published 02/02/2008)

More...

Daikon.  What are they doing?  Drying?  Ripening?  Having a meeting?

Rudiments of Radical Radishes

Zoo/Amusement Center – possibly abandoned.  Sorry about all the wires in the way.

Toyohashi Zoo

My first view of the Pacific Ocean – Border of Shizuoka prefecture.

A world apart

Aaaaaugh!

Army of Tanuki

Art Museum in Hamamatsu – My favorite city in Japan.

Hamamatsu Art Museum

My first view of Mt. Fuji.

Truly Splendid Cone of Beauty

I would not buy these batteries.  Some vending machines keep going despite having seen better days.

Corrosion Explosion

In Kakegawa, Ge Ge Ge no Kitaro watched out for everyone from atop someone’s roof.

GeGeGe no Ge!

Tea fields outside Kanaya, Shizuoka prefecture.

The finest in the land...

Another view of Fuji as I got closer.  Overlooking Kanaya and Shimada, Shizuoka prefecture.

Fuji grows

Looking back up at an old section of ishidatami (stone-paved road) in Kanaya.

Really steep and slippery

One of many long bridges I crossed.  This one leads into Shimada.  It was here I met my fellow pilgrim from Kyoto and we walked together until Fujieda.

One more river...

Working my way up another pass from Fujieda.

Rivers free no more

Tunnel built in the Meiji period, near the end of the 19th century.  Cars pass by further down in a newer tunnel and the really old Tokaido continues up the hill and crosses the pass.

Ooh, spooky!

A well-preserved section of the Old Tokaido, this is the town where the old man stopped me to give me a history lesson.

Did you ever see history portrayed as an old man - humanly warm and humanly beautiful?

There were some beautiful ditches between houses.

Property Divisions

I guess they really wanted you to know this was a barber shop!  There were barber polls all over the building too.

Shave and a haircut, two bits?

What I consider to be the most dangerous section of the road.  This is where the pedestrian walk ended with a large sign saying I could go no further.  To my left – train tracks and a mountain.  To my right – divided highway and ocean.  Nothing to do but plunge ahead.  Scariest two kilometer run of my life.

There must be another way

I made it and gratefully collapsed on a rare bench.

Japan comes through in a pinch

These are the tubes that your life goes down.  No, seriously, I have no idea what was in these pipes but they were huge.

Eustachion Tubes

We’re getting there!

Leave a Reply

