h1

The Breaking Point

July 23, 2009

Okay, so here’s the deal.

Posts below this are the preserved copies of my original blog: Ricecracker.  Ricecracker was a chronicle of my experiences in Hirakata City at Kansai Gaidai University on the outskirts of the greater Osaka metropolitan area.  I studied at Gaidai from August 2007 through May 2008.

After Gaidai, I spent the next year finishing up my Bachelor’s in Japanese at Pacific University in Forest Grove, OR.  Now, I got a job as a CIR (Coordinator of International Relations) with the JET (Japan Exchange and Teaching) program sponsored by the Japanese government.  This coming year, I will be moving to Miyakonojo City, Miyazaki Prefecture, and working as a part of the International Exchange Department of the local city government.  Subsequent posts (those listed higher up on the page because they are chronologically newer) will concern my new adventures in southern Kyushu.

I hope this blog can be amusing as well as educational and possibly foster a better understanding for some of the JET program, the CIR position, and the city of Miyakonojo.

Leave a Reply

