h1

A Friend Comes to Visit

December 9, 2009

Good grief!  I don’t even know where I left off with stories.  So much has happened in the last month and a half.  I’ve done all sorts of exciting new things at work, I’ve had all sorts of strange encounters, and I’ve been around half of Kyushu hiking volcanoes and running on the beach.  I bought a desk, a Pendleton hat, and a classical guitar.  Phew!  The biggest and best of all was that Rae came to visit for a couple of weeks.  We did all sorts of things and there are stories, oh, are there stories all right.  But, not sure when I’ll get around to that.  Soon, I hope.  First, I’ve got about sixty pictures to share with you.

This is a picture from a sunset that happened the day before Rae got here.

We went out to Seki-no-o falls on the first day Rae was here.

The first pictures are from our trip up to Oita.  We drove up during the rain, poked around the town of Yufuin, walked down some touristy places, checked out a steaming hot lake, and all sorts of other good stuff.  Then we drove way out into the highlands and camped.  There was an outdoor bath in the campground which was pretty much the hottest water I’ve ever been in.

It was so cold that night.  There was frost all over our tent and sleeping bags in the morning.

We stopped by the side of the road to take some pictures, and a passing motorist must have thought we were looking at deer or something because he stopped too and then got out to see what we were looking at.

We also checked out a waterfall while we were in the neighborhood.

The next day, we climbed Yufudake.  I’ll put those pics in the next post.

Leave a Reply

